18. Don’t Want to Say Goodbye to Paradise

IMG_8192

Amalfi Coast, Italy

I did not understand how the people at the bottom right of this photo felt when I took this photo. As I was leaving the Amalfi Coast to continue my journey a few days later I understood how they felt. Why in gods name am I leaving paradise? 

Imagine perfect beaches, clean Mediterranean water, incredible food (highlights were an incredibly kind Pizza Man named Raphaela and calamari served in a paper cone), and amazing company. The couple days I spent on the Amalfi Coast were spent lounging on the beautiful beach, taking a bus that hurtled around perilously high cliffs at way too fast a speed, and drinking lots of delicious wine. I loved every second of it. We had our own private Villa that cost less per night then most hostels I stayed at throughout Europe. There were fresh lemons and oranges to pick on a tree that grew outside our Villa. The people were friendly and welcoming to tourists. It was the off-season so it wasn’t all that crowded. There were bars, cute shops and even a couple churches to explore. At night, the water was lit up with the lights along the coastline. I can still hear the waves crashing on the beach. When we left the Amalfi Coast I understood why the two people in this photo wanted to get a last look.

Photo taken on: March 20th, 2016 10:39 AM

Leave a Reply

