53. Schloss Schönbrunn Konzerte

IMG_5254

Vienna, Austria

Before arriving in Vienna I found a video online of a outdoor concert at some unknown European palace. The orchestra performed many songs from the soundtrack to Star Wars. It was absolutely epic. The lights, the architecture, the massive crowd, and the quality of the music. I hoped that one day I would get to see something like that. A few weeks later I had made my decision to study abroad in Vienna when I rediscovered the video. I was pleasantly surprised that the concert had been in Vienna at somewhere called the Schönbrunn Palace. I was also elated to find out that they were doing another concert this year, that it was free to attend, and that it was taking place only a couple days after my program ended! I knew I had to go.

The concert theme was French Music. It was incredible. There were easily a quarter million people if not more at the concert. There were fireworks, light shows, and encore. It was the closest orchestra will come to being a rock concert. If you’re in Vienna in late May I cannot recommend this concert enough.

Photo taken on: May 26th, 2016 9:53 PM

Leave a Reply

