24. What A Circus

IMG_9437

Paris, France

What I was not expecting about the Eiffel Tower was that it reminded me most of an amusement park ride. It makes sense considering that the Eiffel Tower was built for the World’s Fair of 1889. I guess I expected it to feel more like other massive landmarks I had seen. The Statue of Liberty, I thought, would be the most analogous. I mean they are both made by the French, right? 

The Eiffel Tower and the grounds around it had a whimsical and epic feeling to it. The lawn that extended from the opposite side of the Tower was a wonderful place to relax and take in the view. The Merry-Go-Round in this picture was one of the attractions near the Tower that added to the amusement park feeling. Waiting in line for the elevator to the tower felt like waiting in line for a ride. The elevator itself had large windows that allowed you take in the view.

As I had mentioned earlier I really don’t do well with heights. I went up the Eiffel Tower for the first time on my 21st birthday. It was pouring rain and it was so windy the rain was blowing sideways. Standing on top of the Eiffel Tower with gale force winds and a completely irrational fear of heights was exhilarating, terrifying and truly worth the price of a elevator ticket.

Also shoutout to Babette, a friendly fellow hostel-goer in Prague for inspiration for the title of this photo. Sometimes things are just an absolute circus.

Photo taken on: March 25th, 2016 6:37 PM

Leave a Reply

