10. Amsterdam By Night

IMG_6937

Amsterdam, Netherlands

I think what I enjoyed most about nightlife in Europe was how it was more of an accepted part of city life. Entire streets would be closed to pedestrians, city centers weren’t designed for cars they were designed for people to walk. This made the entire experience feel more open and accessible than in major US cities.

The city of Amsterdam was interesting in that I could not get Dutch food there. When I traveled to a new city I really wanted to try to get a sense of the local cuisine and experience some of the local restaurants. The only Dutch restaurants that were not absurdly expensive were too far out of the city to realistically get to. I was limited to pizza, hamburgers, french fries, and food from the supermarket when I was in Amsterdam. I particularly loved the Van Gogh museum and the Ann Frank House while I was there.

Also every stereotype you’ve ever heard about bikes in Amsterdam is 100% accurate.

Photo taken on: February 14th, 2016 12:12 AM

Leave a Reply

