13. Radstadt

IMG_7444

Radstadt, Austria

From this view, mountains stretched as far as the eye could see. It was unfamiliar territory for me. Having grown up in the Northeast United States all the mountains I were used to were lone bastions in a flat sea. This was something entirely different. The mountain range stretched into the horizon, clouds would roll over the tops of distant peaks and suddenly they would engulf you obscuring your vision. 

I learned to ski when I was a little kid, it is one of my earliest memories. I was skiing at Whistler in Canada. I was going down a slope that was way too challenging for me because it had moguls. I bumped down the hill but managed to keep my balance. I skied down to my family who was waiting for me, laughing at the admittedly hilarious sight I must have been.

When skiing down a hill, I feel weightless. Nothing but gravity is powering you. Going down the face of these mountains as towering natural skyscrapers loomed overhead was the closest to outer space I’ll ever get. True weightlessness.

Photo taken on: March 5th, 2016 2:03 PM

Leave a Reply

